somanythingsleftunsaid

Gobble, gobble, gobble….

Leave a comment

Thanksgiving at the Trolls

Thanksgiving at the Trolls (Photo credit: martha_chapa95)

As a tried and true Canuck, I’m celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend. This means getting together with family and friends and way, WAY too much food. Friday I had the great fortune to get together with a dear friend whom I met during my sentence in our post secondary institution – err, I mean, my time in high school. While visiting with her parents for the holiday they were kind enough to open their doors to little ol’ me too. It was loads of fun sitting and chatting with them all.
Yesterday I believe I resurfaced from my food-induced coma around 7 p.m. following a typically, large holiday lunch. No one should ever go hungry when eating with this family. If they do, it’s their own fault. What started out as a meal for three, turned into dinner for 8. So the menu grew too. Today is catch-up day. Painting, and more painting, but some time for a little fun too. It would have been mom and dad’s 46th anniversary today. Holidays are always a little bitter-sweet now that mom’s gone. She had some big shoes to fill when it came to holiday meals. So while it’s nice to have family and friends around, there’s still a little something missing for us. I saw that on my dad’s face at times yesterday too. But we carry on…as she’d have wanted, no, insisted.

Leave a Reply

