somanythingsleftunsaid

What do you do when you’re feeling blue?

1 Comment

Autumn Leaves

Autumn Leaves (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While blue is one of my favourite colours (it’s right up there with purple) it’s not a colour I like to feel. It’s not easy being green either, but that’s a story for another day. As an artist and a designer I’ve taken numerous classes that have bestowed upon me the influence colour has on our emotions as well as how they’re used to describe them. So what DO you do when you’re feeling blue? Lately, that’s a question I’ve asked myself a lot. And still nothing seems to snap me out of it for very long. So I’ve decided that it’s time for an experiment. At some point along the way I’ve read an article, or heard a news story, or watched a tv spot that has suggested recording the good things that happen to you each day. It’s believed this will help to highlight the positive things in your life rather than allowing the negatives to overwhelm it. In our society, the only news we see or hear is bad, add to this our own struggles and those of our friends and family and it’s easy to see how one can be overwhelmed by negativity. So starting today, I’m going to record my “happy thoughts” here for the next month.

What’s my happy thought today? That’s easy, it’s October! I LOVE this month! The changing of the leaves, the warm, windy days and cool nights, Hallowe’en…..what’s not to love!?

So what do YOU do when you’re feeling blue? Let us know, so we can try it too!

One thought on “What do you do when you’re feeling blue?

  1. When I find myself in one of these ‘Blue’ moods, I usually make my comfort food. Heinz tomato soup made with milk and I grate cheese in it with some pepper and soda crackers. Then after, I curl up on the couch, watch some T.V. then probably have a nap.

    I feel that this mood gives me some much needed quiet time, and helps me calm down and reflect on what is going on in my life which helps me reorganize and prioritize my thoughts. It’s a better way of coping with things and easier to snap out of then depression. Therefore, soup seems to work for me 95% of the time.

Leave a Reply

