somanythingsleftunsaid

Foul Weather Friends

1 Comment

Chickadee

Chickadee (Photo credit: Hschuyt)

Acts of kindness need not be limited to just people. There are many of our wild and domestic friends that can benefit from our generosity. I usually provide food for our feathered friends, however tonight there’s a large storm due to hit our area and these winter storms are hardest on them.  So I went out and filled my standard feeder and two suet containers, plus I added 4 EXTRA feeders to help them through this storm. The temperature is one issue, but the snow will cover their food sources too. This is the time of year they can use a little extra help. Not to mention it draws them to your yard and they’re great to watch! For me it’s relaxing to watch them go about their daily business and they’re so darn CUTE! Over the years I’ve had close encounters with chickadees, finches, sparrows, hummingbirds (only in the summer), woodpeckers, hawks at times even having chickadees eating from my hands. It also provides me with great opportunities to photograph these guys for painting references!

While I’m looking forward to a big dumping of snow, I also know I’ll be looking forward to watching them too.

One thought on “Foul Weather Friends

  1. We stocked ours up too including the peanut feeder for the woodpeckers, chickadees and nuthatches. The funniest to watch at our house though are the chickens. When I let them out of their pen to free range for a couple hours they run-flap their way as fast as they can to the bird feeders in front of the house. Anytime you want to come take pictures of them for painting reference, come on over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

