somanythingsleftunsaid

Love, Hugs and Chocolate

1 Comment

Birthday, Cake with candles

Birthday, Cake with candles (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The events of the recent week in the U.S. and some unfortunate acts by people in my own life recently have me somewhat disheartened. I do fully believe that we need to display more kindness more often, but I completely understand why it’s become so difficult to do so. Today, I felt the need to show someone who is a my life kindness rather than looking to strangers. Maybe I’m just withdrawing a bit because of the acts of UNkindness I’ve seen the past week. Regardless, I decided to give a friend that I don’t normally buy gifts for, a small gift for her birthday. It turns out, that she’d had a rather frustrating weekend and an equally frustrating Monday morning so the gift was well appreciated. Chocolate combined with a funny card and a big hug made not only my day a little brighter but hers too. A gift need not be expensive, or elaborate it just needs to come from the heart.

If you’ve not seen it, watch the movie, “Love Actually.” the opening monologue said by Hugh Grant really does sum up what I feel. The following is only a partial quote…I don’t want to get into trouble! Watch the movie, it’s cute and it’s a good Christmas flick.

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there……If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion love actually is all around.” – Love Actually © 2003 Universal Studios Entertainment http://www.universalstudiosentertainment.com/love-actually/

One thought on “Love, Hugs and Chocolate

  1. Surprising how a thoughtful gesture can make a differences when one feels like they hit the bottom. I agree about love as well. Good for you for showing kindness and love to someone special. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

