somanythingsleftunsaid

Giving Thanks

Leave a comment

Today is Thanksgiving. Well, it’s MY Thankgsgiving. Having missed the festivities last week, I decided to celebrate it today with my dad. Mom was notorious for having huge turkey dinners at each of the 3 holidays that require them and now that she’s gone, those feasts fall to me. What I didn’t realize was the date. Today is Oct 14th. Which would have been mom and dad’s 45th wedding anniversary. I know it sounds terrible that I didn’t remember how significant this day was. The fact of the matter is, I have avoided thinking about the upcoming milestones that will now be devoid of my mother’s touch. So in hindsight, I’m glad I was able to get my dad to come for dinner. I’m also glad that more family joined us as well. It wasn’t the same without mom, but I think she’d be glad that we came together on a day that was already meaningful. So I’m thankful to have been surrounded by family today and to have honoured mom by continuing with her traditions. While I miss my mom, I am also thankful that through mom’s passing, dad and I have become closer. Happy Anniversary Mom.

Leave a Reply

